The Beauty of Uncertainty

February 23, 2009

covers0722081

After living in Brooklyn for 19-months, I plan on leaving New York for Los Angeles in less than ten days. There are many reasons for the big move, but this is neither the time nor the place to get into that. Since I made the decision, I have subjected myself to a string of headaches. In other words, I am still not sure that I made the right decision.

And because I need someone out there to find my disorienting emotional state somewhat amusing, I share with you my oscillating thought-process:

The anachronistic justification – I’m moving out West in the name of Manifest Destiny.

Resorting to clichés -Los Angeles isn’t even a real city; you have to drive everywhere.

Rational argument, part I – I got to move on with my life and seriously start thinking about grad-school; L.A. is the ideal place for this to happen.

Laziness gets the best of me – How does one even go about shipping boxes?

The quality of life kick – Live T.V. starts at a reasonable hour on the West Coast.  (I should note that this argument gained steam after I waited until 8:30 for the Academy Awards to start on the East Coast.)

East Coast elitist – Can I even read New York Times in California?

Being a cheapskate – FREE RENT!

Rational argument, part II – I have a pretty good life here. Why leave it behind?

Got to look good – Maybe I can finally start working on that non-existent tan of mine in L.A.

New York bagels – No explanation needed.

Fake nostalgia – I can be out partying in New York until 5 a.m. every night.

That’s just four and a half minutes worth of my thought process from this morning. There will be more to say on the move later this week.

One Response to “The Beauty of Uncertainty”

  1. Akiva Says:

    I love that “New York Times” is hyperlinked.

Leave a Reply

